top of page
My interests, cooking, hiking and other stuff
Read More About me

I was an attorney living in New Jersey. I moved to Texas with my husband and now stay home with our toddler and infant. So, why not start a blog, right?

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Easy Gluten Free Sweet Potato Cookies

I asked my husband to buy a couple of sweet potatoes for dinner. For some reason, he thought that the best idea would be to buy sweet potatoes from Costco. We have way too many sweet potatoes. After eating them for dinner a few nights in a row, I knew I needed to come up with some other way to use them. One can only eat so many mashed sweet potatoes. I tried to make sweet potato brownies. I thought the result was relatively good, but there was definitely the flavor of sweet potato in a brownie. The brownies didn't satisfy the brownie urge that I had, and really I still felt like I was eating sweet potatoes. So, what next? Cookies of course!

The cookies turned out great. They are soft and flavorful and don't taste like sweet potatoes!

I actually made two variations on this cookies. In fact, the variations are endless. Just use the basic recipe and add whatever flavorings/fillings you want. My first variation was a chocolate chip cookie. My second was a walnut-cranberry cookie.

Ingredients:

Chocolate Chip

3⁄4 cup cooked sweet potatoes

1⁄2 cup almond butter (you can use any nut butter you like)

2 Tbsp maple syrup

2 eggs

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 Tbsp dried chia seeds

1⁄4 cup Almond Meal/Flour, Finely Ground (You can use any flour you prefer. Oat flour would also work very well here.)

1⁄4cup semisweet chocolate chips

The chia seeds give the cookies a nice crunch!

Cranberry-Walnut

3⁄4 cup cooked sweet potatoes

1⁄2 cup almond butter (you can use any nut butter you like)

2 Tbsp maple syrup

2 eggs

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 Tbsp dried chia seeds

1⁄4 cup Almond Meal/Flour, Finely Ground (You can use any flour you prefer. Oat flour would also work very well here.)

1/4 cup dried cranberries and glazed walnuts

**You can use more than 1/4 cup of the fillings, the cookies can handle it. I limited the amount to 1/4 cup for calorie purposes.

Directions:

1. Combine sweet potato, eggs, almond butter, maple syrup, vanilla and cinnamon (or any other flavorings you choose).

2. Add chia seeds

3. Add flour and baking powder

4. Add semi-sweet chocolate chips/ cranberries and walnuts/any other filling you choose.

5. Drop in 2 tablespoon heaps onto greased cookie sheet

6. Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes

** This recipe makes 16 cookies.

Nutrition (from myfitnesspal.com):

Chocolate Chip: 116 Calories, 8 grams Fat, 1 gram Saturated Fat, 8 grams Carbs, 2 grams Fiber, 4 grams Sugar, 3 grams Protein

Cranberry-Walnut: 104 Calories, 8 grams Fat, 1 gram Saturated Fat, 7 grams Carbs, 2 grams Fiber, 4 grams Sugar, 3 grams Protein

My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
bottom of page