top of page
My interests, cooking, hiking and other stuff
Read More About me

I was an attorney living in New Jersey. I moved to Texas with my husband and now stay home with our toddler and infant. So, why not start a blog, right?

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

How to Keep Remotes Away From Toddlers and Look Stylish While Doing It

Everyone loses a remote now and then. We have all looked for the perfect solution of where to keep our remotes, without cluttering up end tables and coffee tables. People have invented over-the-arm remote holders and tabletop remote holders. These things are great for keeping the remotes organized, yet accessible.

However, those handy holders do nothing to keep the remote away from toddlers. Toddlers, those little people who will pick up anything they can find and then throw it, hide it, destroy it. Toddlers, the little people who are not supposed to watch tv at will, but who can turn on the tv with a remote before they can say their own names. Yeah, you know who I'm talking about.

Well, after about a week with my toddler taking the remote multiple times a day and me not being able to find it at night after she had gone to sleep, I decided that something needed to be done. My solution? A piece of wall art that doubles as a remote holder.

This is easy to put together and you can use any design you want. All you need is:

A picture frame (I used 8X10)

Velcro-self-adhesive is easiest (I used white, black and colored pieces)

Paper (I used black)

Pencil

Glue gun, if not using self-adhesive velcro

Remotes

Take the glass off from the picture frame -- you can save it for use when the frame is no longer needed to hold remotes, or for another project. Using a pencil, draw the shape of the opening in the matting on a piece of paper. Fill in the shape using the rough side of the velcro. This is where you can get creative, keep in mind that people will see this whenever the remotes are not in the frame. Put the paper into the frame, so the velcro is in the center of the matting. Attach the soft side of the velcro to the backs of the remotes. Hang the frame and then hang the remotes.

My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
bottom of page