top of page
My interests, cooking, hiking and other stuff
Read More About me

I was an attorney living in New Jersey. I moved to Texas with my husband and now stay home with our toddler and infant. So, why not start a blog, right?

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Coconut Oil Lotion

When I was younger, single, and without children, I bought lotion. I bought lotion all the time, lots of creamy lotions with wonderful scents and amazing promises. As far as I can tell, none of the promises actually came true. What I did find was that the lotions, even the "natural" ones, were full of things I couldn't pronounce, things I didn't trust. So, I started researching a better way.

Who knew that the better way would come from a product I had in my kitchen!? Coconut oil! I had my doubts about this lotion. Coconut oil is solid at room temperature, how could it be creamy and wonderful? Well, it can. It smooths on my skin and melts into it. My skin stays soft all days long. I love my lotion, I love the way it smells, the way it feels and that I trust every item in it!

It's this simple:

1 teaspoon vitamin E oil

3 drops lavender essential oil

3 drops lemon essential oil

Whip for 5-10 minutes until nice and creamy. I used my KitchenAid Mixer. I found that 1 pint mason jars were perfect for storing this lotion. They are small enough that I can reach all the way to the bottom.

I only use organic expeller pressed coconut oil. I read - on other people's sites - that the refined coconut oils don't have the health benefits that unrefined (like expeller pressed) oils have. I'm not a scientist, but I once used a refined coconut oil. It didn't smell or taste like coconut, so, obviously something was removed. Therefore, I stick with the unrefined oils. I'm not frying things with my coconut oil, so the ability to withstand high temperatures isn't an issue for me.

You could use almost any essential oils you want. I just like the smell of lavender and lemon. I also like the qualities that these oils impart to my lotion. Lavender is very versatile. It is calming and has antibacterial effects, according to WebMD. It also helps with dry skin and eczema, which is the whole point of lotion anyway right? Lemon is a cleanser, and it improves circulation, according to Nature's Gift. Essential oils are medicinal, so you should research them before you choose which ones to use. For example, lemon can increase sensitivity to the sun. Lavender can disrupt young boy's hormones, according to WebMD.

My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
bottom of page